

International Civil Aviation Organization

SEVENTH MEETING OF THE ASIA PACIFIC REGIONAL AVIATION SAFETY TEAM (APRAST/7)

(Bangkok, Thailand, 31 August to 4 September 2015)

Agenda Item 3: Election of APRAST Co-Chair

• Change of Employment of APRAST Co-Chair (Industry)

CO-CHAIR (INDUSTRY) FOR THE ASIA PACIFIC REGIONAL AVIATION SAFETY TEAM (APRAST)

(Presented by the Secretariat)

SUMMARY

This working paper invites the Asia Pacific Regional Aviation Safety Team (APRAST) members to note that the Co-Chair (Industry) has changed his employment status.

Action by the meeting is at Paragraph 3.

1. INTRODUCTION

1.1 According to the APRAST Terms of Reference (TOR), the meeting shall elect Co-Chairs for the conduct of the meeting. One Co-Chair each shall be elected from the nominated members of the State/ Administrations and the Industry respectively. The term of office for the Co-Chairs will be for two years.

2. DISCUSSION

- 2.1 At the APRAST/4 Meeting which was held in Manila from 22 to 25 April 2014, the Meeting re-elected Mr. Tony Houston, who was employed as the Assistant Director, Safety, Operations and Infrastructure, IATA as the Co-chair (Industry) in accordance with the APRAST Terms of Reference.
- 2.2 In May 2015 Mr. Houston informed the Secretarial that he will be resigning from IATA and will be joining NokScoot Airline at 222 Don Mueang International Airport as its Head of Safety, Security and Quality from June 01, 2015.
- 2.3 In late June after consulting with his new employer Mr. Houston informed the Secretariat of his consent to continue as the Co-chair APRAST through the end of his term (2016).
- 2.4 In late June ICAO also received confirmation that IATA has no objection for Mr. Houston to continue as the Co-chair APRAST provided the APRAST Meeting is informed of the change in Mr. Houston's employment status.

3. ACTION BY THE MEETING

- 3.1 The Meeting is invited to:
 - a) note the change of employment of Mr. Tony Houston from IATA to another industry partner; and
 - b) Endorse Mr. Tony Houston to continue as the Co-Chair (Industry) of APRAST till his current term ends in 2016.

— END —